Krisha Darmaraj

Krisha Relleve

Worship Ministry Director

I was born in Manila, Philippines. My family moved to Vancouver in the year 2000, when I was 9 years old, and have been attending Valley Church ever since. I have two older brothers, which makes me the baby and the only daughter. I guess you can say that I was spoiled! My family has always had a love for the Lord and a love for music and I owe it to them for feeding my passion for both!

After high school, I enrolled in Hair Design at Vancouver Community College and was chosen to compete for Skills Canada BC where I won Gold for hairstyling. Although I enjoyed hairstyling, I knew that my calling was for worship. In 2011 I enrolled in Music Ministry in community focus at Pacific Life Bible College and graduated with an Associate of Arts Degree in Music Ministry in spring 2014.

Still cutting hair on the side, I also work part-time at the Centennial Theatre as a Front of House staff and now work as the Music Ministry Director for Valley Church. It is quite the balancing act but I love what I do. God is faithful and I am so grateful for the blessing of being able to serve Him in what He has called me to do.


What is your favourite quote?

My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.

What is your favourite restaurant/coffee shop?

Cactus Club and Momiji Japanese Cuisine/Fernwood Coffee Company in Victoria, BC

Who is your hero?
My dad, my brothers and Varun Darmaraj

Who inspires you?

Influencial women in my life like my mom, my sister in law, Mel Sanderson and Kristina Kurtz

What is your favourite meal?

Medium rare peppercorn steak with garlic mashed potatoes with a glass of merlot. Mmmm yummm

What do you not like to eat?
Peas and Carrots

What is your favourite book – other than the bible?

Redeeming Love and Mark of the Lion Series by Francine Rivers

What is your favourite junk/snack food?
French fries

What is your favourite outdoor activity?

Camping and playing sports like beach volleyball

What is your best thing to do on your day off ?
Sleep in, knit/crochet, hang out with friends and family

What do you avoid doing?
Washing my hair… but I do it eventually…

What is your favorite childhood memory?
My mom singing songs to me

If you could pick a super power what would it be?

What was your nickname when you were a kid?
Kringkring, Squish, Squishy, Sha

What did you want to be when you were 6?
A singer

What was your childhood ambition?
To become a singer and a mom

What was your first job?
Sales Associate at Jacob Connexion

What is your favorite word?

What word do you dislike?

What sound do you love?
The sound of my niece laughing and the sound of a church congregation singing a cappella

What profession would you choose if you didn’t do what you do now?
Maybe something to do with books…or interior decorating…or maybe just being a homemaker!

What is your favorite characteristic of Christ?
His faithfulness and unfailing love

Obscure Info about me:
Krisha means the creativity of God which I thought was really cool but the obscure thing about me is that Krisha isn’t my real name. My legal name is actually Abbey. Confused? Me too…